Auction Number Two: Ella Chang

Posted: January 13, 2016 in blog, blogging, creative writing, Fiction, sci-fi, writing
Tags: , , , , ,

May 6, 2117

Female; Age: 13

Status: Sold     Price: $7,350,000.00

Well, today it seems the Elites wanted to jump right in and see just how lucrative this pool of evil will really be for them, and it worked. People were practically clamoring over one another to get their bids in today.

I’m going to skip my usual tirade. Instead, I’ll simply recount the event here, in case there are any of you reading this who didn’t tune in. It’ll be far more effective than anything I have to say anyway.

{As a quick note, I stream these posts live and expect that I’ll  receive orders to report soon. If so, I will have to take a break from the post, but will complete the entry upon my return.}

As we tuned in, young, sweet Ella Chang was suspended at the back of the room, her wrists secured by chains to the ceiling under lock and key as the devil walked in. Biting her lower lip, Ella struggled to reign in her emotions. Despite her trembling chin she somehow managed to hold her head high.

“Hi Sweetie.” The man cooed as he dragged a metal chair to sit before her. “What’s your name?”

Her only response was the cascade of tears as they breached their wells.

“I’m not going to hurt you.” He assured her.

As the camera zoomed in, we could read the fear, the terror, and the birth of hope in those massive brown eyes of hers, even as the devil kept his back to the camera.

He was six foot tall, average build. His voice, his clothes… everything about him was unremarkable. But he had money. Clearly. Ella hadn’t come cheap.

“It’s ok. Look.” He raised his empty hands to her. “I’m not here to hurt you. Ok?”

Still, she gave no response as her survival instinct had her leaning back, pulling on the chains to gain more distance from him.

Seeing her response, he tsked his tongue. “I’m here to help you. If I was going to hurt you, don’t you think I would have done it already? I’ll help you. Ok? Together, we’ll get through this, I promise you. You and me. Ok.” He waited for more than two minutes before adding, “You have an incredible destiny before you, my dear. I’m going to help you see to it. All I want to do is help. That’s it. Ok?”

Reluctant, she finally nodded. Her tears began to subside as she was overcome with wonder.

“I’m just here to talk to you.” He stood slowly, pulling out his empty pockets. “See? No weapons. Nothing.”

Ella let out a shaky breath and looked to her chained wrists above.

“That’s it. Just relax.” His voice was gentle and kind as though he were talking someone off the edge of cliff. “I only have one rule.”

Her eyes shot back to his, knowing it had been too good to be true.

“Honesty. That’s all. You and me, we have to be honest with one another, ok?”

Her brow furrowed, but still, she didn’t speak.

“That’s the only way we’re going to get through this. We’re a team now, and that means that we can have no secrets ok? Not one. Now, I paid a lot of money to help you. All I need from you is honesty. Ok? You think you can do that?”

Her lips parted, beginning to form a question she couldn’t ask. Not yet.

“Don’t say anything that isn’t true, and don’t hold anything back. Now, you can do that. Can’t you? Hm?”

Her mouth closed and she nodded.

“Good. What’s your name?”

“Ella.” Her voice was timid. “Ella Chang.”

“Very good. It’s nice to meet you Ella.” Though we couldn’t see his face, he must have smiled at her in feigned introduction becuase she tried to mirror the sentiment, but her attempt was fractured and unnerving.

“Are those chains uncomfortable?” She nodded as he moved towards her. “How ‘bout I go ahead and unchain you then? Would you like that?”

She eyed the door as his tone toyed with her. “Now Ella, you aren’t going to try to make a run for it, are you?”

Her head bowed as she shook it.

“Good. Because you and me, we have to stay in here for two hours, and we can’t get out.”

“They why did they chain me?” The words rushed from her mouth before she could hold them in.

The man before her only chuckled. “Clever girl. I’m guessing they did it for my convenience. Surely, they didn’t know I paid all that money to help you. They probably assumed I was a sadistic animal and thought chaining you would make a good impression on me.” He freed first one wrist, then the other. “But I don’t think the chains are necessary. Do you?”

Another wag of the head.

“Good, because we’re friends now. Right?”

Unsure how to answer, she only flashed another maniacal smile at him as she rubbed at her wrists and backed along the wall.

He simply returned to his chair, careful to keep his back to the camera. “How old are you Ella?”

“Thirteen.”

“When’s your birthday?”

“February 3rd.”

“What’s your favorite color?”

“Red.”

After that response, he paused as his voice dropped. “Me too.”

Frightened by his tone, Ella pulled her knees defensively to her chest as she sat on the floor opposite him.

“Do you have a favorite toy?”

“Not really.”

“DON’T LIE TO ME!” he roared and had Ella’s face freezing in shock as she held her breath. “I’m sorry.” He regained control. “But, we cannot have secrets between us, Ella. We must be honest. You agreed. That’s the only way I can help you.”

Another nod even though her eyes welled with tears anew.

“What is your favorite toy, Ella?” His voice had rediscovered its previous charm.

“A stuffed bear.”

“Do you sleep with it?”

Though she tried not to react, I saw the disgust begin to bloom within her as she nodded her head.

“Me too.” Her tormentor revealed.

The disdain was evident on Ella’s face. “You what?”

“I sleep with my favorite toy.”

Deadpan, Ella dropped her eyes to the floor between them as the color drained from her face.

“Don’t you want to know what it is?” He asked.

She shook her head adamantly.

“You sure?”

She nodded furiously, desperate not to know.

He laughed easily. “I’m sorry Ella. That must sound awkward coming from someone you don’t know. But it’s nothing weird. I just meant, I sleep with my favorite toy too. It’s a stuffed cat my mom gave me when I was little. See? That’s not weird is it?”

The entire world knew that was more than a little weird, but Ella stayed strong and smiled. “No.” She agreed. “It’s nice.”

The purchaser let out a huge gush of air as he settled into his chair. “I knew I was right to pick you.” He admitted. “We’re going to be the best of friends. You want that don’t you?”

I saw her gulp, swallowing the true answer before saying. “Yes. Of course. Thank you.”

“So tell me about yourself, Ella.”

“What do you want to know?”

“Everything.”

“Everything?”

“Yes.” He paused, catching his breath in all the excitement. “I’ve never had a best friend before. I want to know everything.”

“You’ve never…” she began to question the incredulity of the admission but caught herself. “I don’t know where to start.”

“Oh.” There could be no hiding the disappointment in his voice. “Do you want me to go first, then?”

She nodded, grateful for the reprieve.

“I’ve lived in Muni One most of my life, but recently got reassigned here. I don’t really miss it there much. I didn’t have any friends or anyone.” His voice drifted off and the uncomfortable pause quickly became unbearably long.

“What about your mom?” Ella asked finally.

“What?” It was as though he had been startled and brought back into the present.

“Was your mom there?”

“My mom? She…” he laughed wryly. “She was there. For a while.”

“Did she move?”

“She died.” His voice was cold, disconnected.

“Oh.” Ella crossed her legs in front of her on the floor. “I’m sorry.” She studied him then. I don’t know if it was the awkward silence that refilled the room, or if she had somehow found compassion for a man who had just bought her as though she weren’t human, but something compelled her to trudge on for clearly, she was stronger than I. “My mom died too.” Her confession was barely loud enough to be picked up by the camera, but her demon heard it.

He tilted his head as he studied her. “How?”

I saw the confusion, the hesitation ripple across her face, but she kept them at bay. After all, she had to be honest. “She belonged the Opposition.”

“The Opposition?” he tested the words before I saw his ears pick up from behind, indicative of a massive smile. “The Opposition.” He spoke with much more confidence as he repeated the words.

{Sorry for the interruption, but Orders received. I will resume as soon as possible.}

 

Leave a Reply

